PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Dell XPS 720 - No GUI ?

Tarmacc
December 30th, 2008, 08:30 PM
Hi

I'm a total Linux newbie but want to learn it. A guy in work gave me an "Ubuntu 8.10 Desktop Edition" cd to install.

I loaded the installer program in Windows and chose to install Ubuntu as dual boot with XP. It appeared to have worked yet clearly something is wrong as it does not boot to a GUI. It goes to like a command prompt with something about 'BlueBox' or 'BlueSky' in the text above it.

Like I said, I'm a complete newbie with Linux so I don't know any commands to enter at a prompt. Is there some option I must do at install that will let it launch the GUI properly or does it simply not run on this sort of computer?

Apologies for vagueness, - I would appreciate any assistance.

Many thanks in advance

Mathematician
December 30th, 2008, 09:18 PM
hmm interesting, have you tried to change the boot settings in your BIOS to cd-rom boot, then run the live cd or install?

I would recommend trying out the live-cd without installing right away so you can see if you like the ubuntu distribution of linux.

As for your problem in installing inside of windows, I apologize, I'm not familiar with that method of installation -hopefully someone with more experience can help you

Tarmacc
December 31st, 2008, 02:07 AM
I tried booting into the Live CD and it did not show a GUI either! It loaded into a command prompt too with "ubuntu@ubuntu:~$" at the prompt. I wonder has this something to do with me having an SLI configuration in this computer maybe?

Mathematician
December 31st, 2008, 04:27 AM
I tried booting into the Live CD and it did not show a GUI either! It loaded into a command prompt too with "ubuntu@ubuntu:~$" at the prompt. I wonder has this something to do with me having an SLI configuration in this computer maybe?