PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Networking config question

nbcohen
December 30th, 2008, 02:18 PM
I'm a long time Unix/Linux user (going back to 1975, actually), but I just installed Ubuntu for the first time this week. I've been working with various Red Hat distributions since 1995 or so, and have used Fedora at home for a long time.

My current setup does not have DHCP set up for my workstations at home. When Ubuntu starts up, the Network is disabled, and when I configure the eth0 connection with a static IPv4 address, DNS information - it works. The network manager enables the device. However, routes don't seem to be activated. I had to manually add a route to my gateway machine and a default gateway route as well.

None of that would be much of a problem - except that none of the settings are saved. If I reboot the machine, I have to enter all the networking data again. How do I force the system to store that information? Also, I find that I have to enter the data and then manually stop and restart the NetworkManager process in order to get it to connect to the eth0 device - I'd prefer not to do that...

An unrelated question, but maybe someone has a quick answer - I set the screen saver to 'Random' and when it kicks in, the system hangs - has to be power cycled. I changed it to one specific screen saver, and it seems to have run overnight - is that a known problem??? My hardware is about 8 years old at the moment - a Pentium system with an ATI graphics card that I'm hoping to replace in the near future...

thanks in advance,

nbc

zika
December 30th, 2008, 03:04 PM
I've just answered to a similar question: http://ubuntuforums.org/showpost.php?p=6461701&postcount=5.

albinootje
December 30th, 2008, 03:27 PM