PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] hello, new guy here

busemans
December 29th, 2008, 06:01 PM
hey guys, no intro area so i just thought i would post here. sorry if its wrong but someone will move it if it is.

i am totally new to non windows anything. i bought a pc from a guy who said it crashed on him so he bought a laptop since he traveled alot. sounded weird but ok. got it home and tried to load xp and nothing. tried for a few days and got tired of it. swapped a running/loaded hd into the pc and it gave me the same error as the one that came in the machine. uh oh, not a good sign. went on a trip for christmas and my brother gave me ubuntu 8.10 and said that should take care of all my trouble. when i got home i tried to load it and got a message about not being able to load the description map and it would not run past the password section. reloaded it a bunch and ran it without having to load the password and have no troubles. it is super cool but i don't know how to do anything in this os. (not that i knew how to do alot in windows, i just followed the prompts) everything runs but it all runs very slow and choppy. the screen saver jerks across the screen like it is working very hard. the computer is an hp and has a p4 2.6 and 2gs of memory so i would imagine it should be super smooth.
a buddy gave me a module to load but i can't figure out how to load it. i have it on the desktop for now, in its little package and have tried loading with the synaptic package manager and something else (cannot think of hte name) but have gotten nothing.

in the future, i would like to load this onto my toshiba with dual core procs and all the cool junk but i think that is along way off as i can't even get a video card driver to load right now.

ok, now a bit about me.