PDA

View Full Version : Do I have anything to worry about with downloading open source programs from torrent?

koffeinöverdos
December 29th, 2008, 12:01 PM
My dad and I both run our own internet based businesses and we absolutely cannot afford to have the whiny RIAA cut us off or even slow us down because I "stole" an open source program. All I want is stinking YamiPod, because gtkpod and Songbird's iPod support don't seem to be doing it for me. I have already heard two horror stories on ubuntuforums about people actually getting in trouble for downloading ubuntu off of bittorrent. Am I being paranoid or is my fear rational?

Grant A.
December 29th, 2008, 12:14 PM
Well, I think in the United States it is illegal to browse your web history, because it is an invasion of privacy as defined by the Internet Security Act of 1988. So if they do cut you off, you might be able to sue them for invasion of privacy, and false accusations.

Although, I am not a lawyer.

koffeinöverdos
December 29th, 2008, 12:26 PM
Well, I think in the United States it is illegal to browse your web history, because it is an invasion of privacy as defined by the Internet Security Act of 1988. So if they do cut you off, you might be able to sue them for invasion of privacy, and false accusations.

Although, I am not a lawyer.

I guess I could get them for false accusations because it's GPL. That should be enough to scare them away because I never touch torrent/P2P.

Bölvaður
December 29th, 2008, 02:16 PM
1. torrent technology is not illegal and is probably going to be much more part of your linux life getting programs and updates in the future.

2. of all the millions of users you found 2 examples of some one getting into trouble.

3. :popcorn: I have a third option here just because it looks better.