PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] Simple Question about Port Addresses and bind() in C

ooobooontooo
December 28th, 2008, 11:01 AM
Hi,

So I just started learning socket programming in C. One of the exercises was to create a simple TCP server that would listen for a connection on a certain port using bind. It was an infinite loop and when someone does connect to it, it accepts and sends "Hello World", then it closes the socket. I tried this by running it on my own computer and it works fine. The only problem is that after running the server, I tried quitting using ^\. Then I tried running it again. It said it failed to bind because the address was already taken, so I'm assuming it meant the port address was still in use. But I already quit the program by using ^\, so I was wondering what this was about. Does anyone know? Thanks in advance.

slavik
December 28th, 2008, 02:20 PM
don't you mean ^C?

Also, what port are you trying to use?

dwhitney67
December 28th, 2008, 06:29 PM
The example you used is very basic; I suppose the original author attempted to keep it that way so that newbies could grasp the basics rather than be confounded with the nuances of TCP ports.

If you want to augment your application such that you can immediately reuse the port, then add this statement somewhere after the socket has been opened.

const int optVal = 1;
const unsigned int optLen = sizeof(optVal);

setsockopt(sd, SOL_SOCKET, SO_REUSEADDR, (void*) &optVal, optLen);

where sd is the socket descriptor obtain from the socket() call.

ooobooontooo
December 28th, 2008, 11:18 PM
@slavik
Isn't ^c interrupt? I tried that too, but it didn't work so I figured it was because I was only interrupting the program and not quitting it. So I used ^\ (which is quit) because it might work.

@dwhitney67