PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Strange Wifi Issues with Ubuntu 8.10 and Intel Wireless 5100 on Sony notebook

MavericKiller86
December 28th, 2008, 06:09 AM
I just slapped a fresh install of Ubuntu 8.10 on my notebook and everything worked pretty well out of the box did the updates and attempted to get wifi working. My wireless network is hidden but network manger had an option for that. Entered all the required information and was on my way but kept getting prompted to re-enter password, after about 4 or 5 times of this it finally connected! Then the light for my wireless card started to flash on and off at random intervals. It would stay solid then start flashing, then I'd also randomly get disconnected. I'm a complete noob and have no clue why this is happening or how to fix the problem tried doing some googling and looking on the forums to no avail. I have to go through this process every time I use my computer. Oh and ubuntu did recognize the network card and installed proper driver for it. Any help would be much appreciated.

My set-up:
Sony VGN-FW290 (CO)
Ubuntu 8.10
Intel Wireless wifi link 5100
D-Link Dir 855 router broadcasting in b, g, and N
WPA2 security

pshootr
December 28th, 2008, 06:45 AM