PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] my keyboard has serious problems PLEASE HELP ME

Herstjori
December 27th, 2008, 05:58 AM
Can anyone help me PLEASE?

My keyboard has stopped working completely on the internet and in everthing else the number pad doesn't work!! I am writing this is Openoffice. I use Ubuntu 8.10 and Firefox 3.0.4

Numberpad has stopped working altogether and all I get from it is a Bold Red Box.

I have unplugged the keyboard and plugged it back in.
I have entered my keyboard manufacturer and model type.
I can't change the layout from USA - but that is correct anyway

bodhi.zazen
December 27th, 2008, 06:59 AM
Sounds like a hard ware problem, do you have a different key board you can test ?

Is it by chance wireless and does it need a new battery (just hoping) ?

Herstjori
December 27th, 2008, 09:05 AM
Thanks Bodhi.zazen for replying.

Key board is ps2 and it is the same one I have been using for about 2 years. It works fine in sometimes other times the T and the O keys are the main ones that seem to drop off (as well as the numberpad and arrow keys of course).

This has been happening for about 5 days now before then no problems - I am also having other issues with folders taking up to 5 minutes to open and when I close them they are all not responding with the force quit option coming up?!?!?!

SonnHalter
December 27th, 2008, 09:23 AM
you sure you have number lock on when using the num pad?

have you updated lately?

Herstjori
December 27th, 2008, 11:06 AM
Haha yes the num lock is on and even if it wasn't it wouldn't explain the arrow keys not working.

Yes update everyday or when the update manager requests.

Thanks for help though!

Bucky Ball
December 27th, 2008, 11:12 AM