PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Can not install Ubuntu

thejavabuddha
December 26th, 2008, 07:43 PM
Hello, I am COMPLETELY new to linux and thought I would give it a try. I'm building a new HTPC and plan to run myth tv on it so I thought I would go ahead and play with linux while I'm waiting for parts to ship.

First off, here are my specs:

Asus P5W DH Deluxe MOBO;
Core 2 Duo E6600;
G.SKILL 2GB (2 x 1GB) DDR2 800 RAM;
COOLMAX CUG-700B ATX 12V( V.2.2) 700W Power Supply;
WD Caviar RE 160GB 7200 RPM SATA 3.0Gb/s HDD;
WD Caviar Green WD10EACS 1TB SATA 3.0Gb/s Hard Drive;
FREETECH GeForce 6200 128MB DDR PCI-e x16 Video Card

Trying to install from a CD on an external USB dvd drive from an image burned from ubuntu-8.10-desktop-i386.iso

I have Windows XP sp2 installed on my 160GB drive and initally set up umbutu from windows. The process started and seemed to take a long time. All this wonderful esoteric code started to stream across my screen and I left it alone. I got a message that said:

"Synchronous SCSI scan failed without making any progress. Switching to async"

Or something along those lines. I remembered reading somewhere that installing linux takes a long time and not to be afraid if I see error messages as this is normal. I believed them so I left it alone for a while. I came back a while later and noticed that the same message was repeating itself over and over again, with the only difference being the numbers at the begining of each line. I will try to replicate them here, but I had to hand write them on a piece of paper and errors are likely:

"[ 173.12033] ata7.00: Status: {DRDY}
[ a higher #] ata7.00: exception Emask 0x0 SAct 0x0 SErr 0x0 action 0x6 frozen
[ a higher #] ata7.00: cmd a0/00:00:00:24:00/00:00:00:00:00/90 tago pio 36 in
cdb 12 00 00 00 24 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00
res 40/00 ::00:00:00:00/:00:00:00:00:00/00 Emask 0x4 (timeout)"