PDA

View Full Version : Beyond loops.

Zargoon
December 24th, 2008, 09:29 PM
I'm a highschool student. The unfortunate thing about my school is that their technology department is sevearly limited in their technology department. Like the peak of their tech class are "How to use MS Word".

Well, a long story short, I created a club where we meet after school and then do some programming. What ended up happening is that I just started teaching everyone the little bit a know. Which is not much mind you just stuff I've pick up on the internet.

So were using python because that seems like a good starting point. We've done loops and if statements and made some little text based combat and adventure games.

The issue is now I've hit a road block. I really have no idea where to go next after simple stuff like loops and what not. Objects? That sounds kinda advanced. I don't really know what the natural progression is, and I also have a hard time finding things because the tutorials that I've found are either redundant or to advanced.

So I was wondering if there are any tutorials and resources that you guys would recommend? I'm okay with ordering a book off of amazon if need be. The information is scattered enough that I figured I could save some time by asking first.

Thanks in advance!

pmasiar
December 24th, 2008, 09:41 PM
Wiki in my sig has plenty links.

You need to solve many problems (also linked), but don't get bogged by OOP design at the begining: using existing objects is just fine, and when you will learn how to use them, designing your own will make much more sense. Until then, dictionaries will serve as your 'poor man' objects just fine.

Also, consider avoiding GUI - it is lots of work for little gain (except it looks pretty). There is another way to share your applications: make then web-hosted using Google App Engine. It is also hard, like GUI is, but IMHO more useful skill to learn. But stay in commandline as long as you can.