View Full Version : [ubuntu] build-essential autoconf automake libxmu-dev (ns2 on Ubuntu 7.04)

December 24th, 2008, 04:15 PM
Hi, I'm new to Ubuntu... A little bit about my Ubuntu world. I've just installed Ubuntu 7.04 on my laptop Aspire 1200X (Intel Celeron 1 GHz with 384 MB RAM) sharing with Windows XP O/S on 20GB HDD. Ubuntu 8.10 won't work on my laptop probably because of its minimum specs. Ubuntu 7.04 works fine on my laptop EXCEPT if I install updates from repositories that makes my systems hang! The system hangs even if I enable the "Desktop Effects".. Thus, I decided to leave it blank at the repositories.
My intention of using Ubuntu 7.04 is because I want to run ns2.31 simulator for my project. Since I'm a newbie in Linux/Ubuntu World and ns2, then I choose to follow step-by-step instruction as shown in:

However, I'm stuck at the instruction at line:

$ sudo apt-get install build-essential autoconf automake libxmu-dev

First I got message:

E: Couldn't find package build-essential.

Then, by following some thread on the forum shown below, I managed to install build-essential by inserting the CD installer on the CD drive:

$ sudo apt-cdrom add
$ sudo apt-get update
$ sudo apt-get install build-essential

However, there are still some error in installing "autoconf, automake, libxmu-dev". The error message are:

E: Couldn't find package ............

I have tried to download it from the websites below, however, all are broken links...

I know there could be an easy way to install those packages through "Synaptic Package Manager", however, I'm afraid if I enable those updates, my systems will hang again, and I have to re-install the O/S again.

I can't solve these problem, so, can anybody out there in the Ubuntu WORLD help me out...I really appreciate if you can give step-by-step instruction.

December 24th, 2008, 04:21 PM
Have you tried Hardy, 8.04? Feisty has reached the end of it life so you will not get any support, no update, and no security fix.