PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] RAID Configuration

dr_jaymahdi
December 23rd, 2008, 09:35 PM
Hi,

I am a newbie when it comes to RAID configurations in Linux. I have 4 HDDs in which all the sizes are 500GB. I am wondering if it is possible for me to set up a RAID configuration of the following:

2x500GB Raid 1 Striped to combine 1TB

another 2x500GB Raid 1 Striped to combine 1TB

And then, can I use both of those striped Raid's as a mirror like Raid 0 or am I dreaming? I am not sure what kind of nested Raid mode would this be.

If anyone has the patience to answer my question, it would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks.

lemming465
December 27th, 2008, 04:57 AM
Striping across mirrors is a very standard way of building high-performance reliable storage, particularly when you need better write performance than you would get from RAID-5 (striped with parity). It's usually called RAID-10 or RAID-1/0 (first mirror [1], then stripe [0]). For reliability reasons you want to stripe across mirrors, not mirror across stripes, as that decreases the odds that two simultaneous disk failures will cause data loss.

There are at least 3 ways to do this.

option 1 - hardware
If your disk controller is fancy and expensive and supports true hardware RAID (as opposed to software "fakeraid"), it may offer a RAID-10 mode in hardware. In this case any operating systems would see only the logical disk array presented by the disk controller, not the underlying physical drives. This is very common when building database servers. If you have the expensive disk controller, you can multiboot, do graphical installs, and have an easy time of it - as long as the controller is supported by the OS. Usually it is; typical chipsets are from LSI, Megaraid, or Adaptec.