PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Having troubles installing Ubuntu on custom rig

sirvyper4580
December 23rd, 2008, 06:15 PM
Alright, I'd like to warn you that I am completely new to Linux, so I apologize if the solution to this problem is painfully obvious. I also warn that this post might be painfully long.

This is what I'm using atm: AMD Athlon(tm) 64 X2 Dual Core Processor, NVidia motherboard (can't remember exact model right now, it's about 2 years old), Radeon x1950 Diamond Video Card, G15 Keyboard, Logitech MX Revolution Mouse, 4 gigs of ram, 1 250gb hdd (SATA) and 1 1TB (SATA) hdd. Windows Vista Ultimate 64bit SP1 installed on the 250gb hd, the 1TB is used to install all my music, games, etc etc.

I downloaded an ISO for Ubuntu 64bit, version 8.10 through the Ubuntu website. I originally tried to install a Virtual PC of it to check it out first. I would get the main screen with how to install Ubuntu and such, but wouldn't go further then that. So I figured I'd be bold and try to install it outside of VPC. I put the disc in and Wubi popped on. I set it up to install on D: (1TB HD) and use 30gb space. It kept saying there was an error reading the contents on the CD, I looked up on this forum actually how to fix the problem and none of the solutions worked for me. So I rebooted and boot to the CD. It gave me the option to check out Ubuntu before installing, awesome option btw, so I did so. I loved the interface and everything seemed so smooth. However, after a few actions here and there, it locks up completely.