PDA

View Full Version : Python program crashes when it cannot connect to host

darthsabbath
December 11th, 2005, 08:24 AM
Hi, all,

I've recently begun work on my first real programming project... a console based email client with a UI based somewhat on Pine (a la Nano being based on Pico)... but with features closer to a standard email client like Thunderbird or Eudora... especially no need for an external agent such as fetchmail. Yeah, I know there's a million email clients, but damnit, I have an itch to scratch. ;-)

Well... I'm fairly new at this programming thing, and I may be missing something totally obvious here... well, let me explain first.

One of the modules I'm creating is a session manager that wraps around the Python implementations of POP3, IMAP, and SMTP to keep them all in one tidy place. I barely have any code to show for it right now, at least in a useable form... it's just basically being built from the ground up... but take this portion from the POP3 manager...

def ConnectHost(self):
print "Connecting to host %s" % self.host
self.session = POP3(self.host, self.port)
print "Sending username %s" % self.login
self.session.user(self.login)
print "Login successful!\n Sending password!"
self.session.pass_(self.pwd)
print "Login complete!"

Please excuse the simple nature of this... I want to get the basics working before moving on. Anyway.... Everything's all fine and dandy until, say I enter in an invalid hostname... then the program goes down the tubes:

Traceback (most recent call last):
File "/home/pwm/pyne-project/pyne.py", line 9, in -toplevel-
p.ConnectHost()
File "/home/pwm/pyne-project/sessionmgr.py", line 15, in ConnectHost
File "/usr/lib/python2.4/poplib.py", line 84, in __init__
for res in socket.getaddrinfo(self.host, self.port, 0, socket.SOCK_STREAM):
gaierror: (-2, 'Name or service not known')