View Full Version : [ubuntu] SATA Hard Drive not recognized

Markiv99
December 22nd, 2008, 10:11 PM
I am new to Linux OS, have build a new system with configuration:
XFX GeForce 8200 Mother board;
2GB RAM;
AM2-AMD Athelon X2 4800+ CPU
300 GB SATA Hard Drive.

The system is runing with Ubuntu 8.10 Live CD for AMD 64 processor, but the SATA hard drive is not being recognized by the Ubuntu, although it shows up in BIOS when configured as SATA.
Second, I was able to install ubuntu on this hard drive when connected through a USB port but when I connect it to SATA port ubuntu OS fails.

Thanks in advance, please let me know in detail and simple steps what needs to be done.

Markiv

logos34
December 22nd, 2008, 11:18 PM
have you tried installing on usb connection, then rebooting with it plugged back into the sata port? (TBH I've never tried that)

If only your board had two different sata controllers like some others (it apparently only has one for 6 ports) you could switch...

wpshooter
December 23rd, 2008, 12:54 AM
have you tried installing on usb connection, then rebooting with it plugged back into the sata port? (TBH I've never tried that)

If only your board had two different sata controllers like some others (it apparently only has one for 6 ports) you could switch...

Unless I misread the original posters thread, that is exactly what he said he had already done.

Markiv99:

Does the hard drive have anything on it ? If NOT, why don't you use www.killdisk.com to WIPE the drive and then see if it will be recognized.

logos34
December 23rd, 2008, 01:06 AM
Unless I misread the original posters thread, that is exactly what he said he had already done.

you're right...read that post a little too fast

Markiv99
December 24th, 2008, 04:30 PM
Hi, Guys thanks for your help, I really appreciate for your efforts.