PDA

View Full Version : Wouldn't it be easier to emulate Mac OS X versions of apps like Adobe InDesign?

ricky22
December 22nd, 2008, 11:52 AM
Hey all,
I've been using Ubuntu for 3 years now, got a hell of a lot of help from this forum and the Ubuntu community in general, for which I am eternally grateful:-)
I read somewhere that the single biggest obstacle to wider Linux adoption on desktop is the lack of Linux ports of Adobe applications like InDesign and Photoshop. Also, even though we have OpenOffice, having a free, working solution for running MS Office under Linux would make it easier for many users to migrate.
Since Mac OS X is essentially a Unix system, wouldn't it be easier to make those applications available under Linux using the Mac versions and a Mac OS emulator rather than running the Windows versions with WINE, which at least for me doesn't work as smooth as it should?
Just a thought, I'm not an expert on emulation, virtualisation etc. If the above doesn't make sense, please ignore. I would still very much like to know what you think. Cheers,
Patrick

DeadSuperHero
December 22nd, 2008, 06:01 PM
Well, to do so you would need to reverse engineer Cocoa, and most likely also Carbon.

From what I know, Coco is an application layer for apps written in a language called Objective-C. The language itself is derived from Steve Job's NeXTSTEP project when he was kicked out of Apple for a while.

NeXTSTEP WAS in fact, reverse engineered by the GNU project, as well as several others. I know that GNUSTEP has a fairly good documentation on what is the basis of Objective-C, but Apple owns the Objective-C language, which can only be compiled or used on an Intel Mac.

My personal stance is to help existing open source projects by suggesting a feature that you happened to like in a proprietary app. GIMP, for example, has gotten a much more usable interface due to user request.