PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] [C++] Char variable not printing the entire input

thenocturnalhoodie
December 21st, 2008, 07:21 PM
Hey everyone. So I'm designing a really simple, really rudimentary c++ program for the holidays. I'm going to be sending it to my friends. Just something simple along the lines of
"hi, what's your name?"
"hello <name>"
and so on.

So i just wrote a bit of it, to see if I knew how (I just started learning C++ a few days ago). And It compiled just fine, but it didn't work exactly how i wanted it.
Here's my source code:

#include <iostream>

int main()
{
char name;
std::cout << "enter your name!\n";
std::cin >> name;
std::cout << "Hello" << name << "\n";
return 0;
}

When I execute it< I get this:
"enter your name!
tyler
Hellot"

How can I get it to print "Hello tyler!"

I'm searching my guide, and it doesn't really do any work with this sort of thing.

kjohansen
December 21st, 2008, 08:00 PM
you have defined name as a char, that is just a single character. You need to either use the C++ string class or the C style char string char pointer.

#include <iostream>
#include <string>

using namespace std;

int main()
{
string name;
std::cout << "enter your name!\n";
std::cin >> name;
std::cout << "Hello" << name << "\n";
return 0;
}

thenocturnalhoodie
December 21st, 2008, 08:09 PM
thank you.
This book doesn't mention the string variables at all.

Grr.

wd5gnr
December 21st, 2008, 08:11 PM
He's right of course. Use a string or a char array. However, something to think about. Do all your friends run Linux? The same version/flavor as you? On the same processor? With the same bit-ness (e.g, AMD64 vs i386)? And.. will they all be willing to run your executable? (If someone mails me an executable I would be hard pressed to run it).