PDA

View Full Version : Why is the default theme brown?

René Kabis
December 10th, 2005, 09:55 PM
This must have been asked before, but why is the default Umbuntu theme brown? I've discovered how to change it, including the boot screen, but why brown?

Being a designer, I know that brown engenders feelings of trust and stability, but it also provides an impression of age and statelyness (ie, a lack of bleeding-edge change and innovation and reliance on old and possibly outdated conventions).

This is not my opinion on the colour brown, it is simply what scientific research has shown that this colour provides as an impression to most people. This is also why very few corporate logos are brown, unless they deal in antiques or traditional products that do not require constant innovation (like some wood products, such as kitchen chairs and tables)

Personally, I would like to know the reasoning behind the choice of brown for the primary system scheme. Anyone?

Rinzwind
December 10th, 2005, 09:57 PM
edit:

Well it's just a color.
With the same reasoning you can also claim brown stands out cuz no-one uses it...

René Kabis
December 10th, 2005, 10:01 PM
edit:

Well it's just a color.
With the same reasoning you can also claim brown stands out cuz no-one uses it...

Fair enough, but why is Kubuntu blue, then? Same system, just KDE instead of Gnome...

matthew
December 10th, 2005, 10:03 PM
Brown is the new black. ;)

(just a silly joke...)

23meg
December 10th, 2005, 10:04 PM
From https://wiki.ubuntu.com/MarkShuttleworth

Why is the default desktop in Ubuntu BROWN?

The overarching theme of the first set of Ubuntu releases is "Humanity". This drives our choice of artwork as much as our selection of packages and decisions around the installer. Our default theme in the first four releases of Ubuntu is called "Human", and it emphasises warm, human colours - brown.