PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] help with wirless drivers on laptop

Grukmuck
December 21st, 2008, 05:17 AM
okay, so im dual booting windows xp and ubuntu 8.04 and low and behold my wireless internet doesnt work when i use ubuntu. i am unable to get a wired connection so i cant get fwcutter or ndiswrapper to work. i was curious if i could get what i need onto a disc to get my wireless to work in ubuntu and if so where can i get it.

just a side note, im new to ubuntu and linux and really have no idea what im doing. im looking forward to getting my internet to work because i want to make the switch from xp to ubuntu.

any help would be appreciated. thanks in advanced.

-gruk

nhasian
December 21st, 2008, 07:07 AM
actually Ubuntu 8.10 is supposed to have better support for wifi adaptors. you should try upgrading to the new version. also you can show us which network adaptor you have if you type in a terminal:

lshw -C network

Grukmuck
December 22nd, 2008, 05:46 AM
i tried booting a live cd of 8.1 but my wireless still doesnt work. my network adaptor is a broadcom BCM4318.

my problem is that i am unable to get a wired connection to the internet to update the firmware.

my question is: can i get the firmware using xp and put it onto a disc so that i can just install from the disc in ubuntu? or do i have to find a wired connection to do the update?

igknighted
December 22nd, 2008, 06:04 AM
i tried booting a live cd of 8.1 but my wireless still doesnt work. my network adaptor is a broadcom BCM4318.

my problem is that i am unable to get a wired connection to the internet to update the firmware.

my question is: can i get the firmware using xp and put it onto a disc so that i can just install from the disc in ubuntu? or do i have to find a wired connection to do the update?