PDA

View Full Version : [xubuntu] running xubuntu headless, need some guidence

prupert
December 20th, 2008, 04:16 PM
Hi there

I am still learning linux and I need some help sorting something out.

I am wanting to run a box with Xubunut headless, but I do need access to a GUI as I am still learning Linux and am using conky to give me a quick overview of system status via VNC (as I get more confident, I will switch over to phpsysinfo and CLI only).

Anyway, I can't get the Xubuntu box to run without a monitor attached. The boot process always halts because the system detects there is no monitor attached - I guess this is Xorg halting the boot.

I understand that to get round this, I need to add additional details to my xorg.conf file, but I am not sure where to find these details and what exactly I need to add to ensure the box starts up without a monitor, but without screwing up my settings so that I can connect my monitor to the box if I need to (say if networking fails for whatever reason) and it will still work.

I tried reading through my xorg logs, but it was full of so much info, I got a bit scared about what to do.

Searching on the forums hasn't helped much, since the answers given seem a little incomplete and it looks like the posters just gave up, most of the posts are fairly old too.

So, could anyone tell me, or point where to look, to edit my settings so Xubuntu loads without a monitor, but will still allow me to log in via VNC? I have VNC set-up all ok, that isn't an issue, it's just getting the box started without a monitor is the problem (I am presuming that if I just disabled xorg at start-up, it would mean that VNC also wont work).

If it helps, I am using the default xfce display manager on Xubuntu.

Looking forward to some advice.

albinootje
December 20th, 2008, 04:25 PM
The boot process always halts because the system detects there is no monitor attached - I guess this is Xorg halting the boot.

How do you know that the system halts ?