PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] [SOLVED] Add/Remove Program List Empty



DarKnyht
December 20th, 2008, 04:00 PM
I started up ubuntu 8.10 this morning and was going to add an app, but when I went to the add/remove programs the list was empty.

Any advice on how to correct this?

lovelyvik293
December 20th, 2008, 04:07 PM
Try reloading the package list in the synaptic package manager.
Or i think you delete up all the software sources.

gb5757870
December 21st, 2008, 12:22 AM
Same problem here. Have tried reloading through synaptic and apt-get update. Still empty.

I presume a security update broke this?

Partyboi2
December 21st, 2008, 01:00 AM
try reinstalling gnome-app-install

sudo apt-get --reinstall install gnome-app-install

gb5757870
December 21st, 2008, 01:19 AM
try reinstalling gnome-app-install

sudo apt-get --reinstall install gnome-app-install

Thanks heaps, issue fixed for me. Any theories why this would happen?

DarKnyht
December 22nd, 2008, 02:14 AM
That also solved it for me. Thanks.

eragon100
December 22nd, 2008, 10:50 AM
Solved for me as well, thank you!

A*p
December 22nd, 2008, 05:26 PM
This just happened to me also, but the suggested fix worked, Thanks.

Milesey
December 22nd, 2008, 09:53 PM
This happened to me twice. Each tine, I'd just installed Adobe Air (in order to run the new BBC iPlayer Desktop application.

May be coincidental ???

Reinstalling using ...

sudo apt-get --reinstall install gnome-app-install

... worked both times.

mrtorrent
December 23rd, 2008, 10:44 AM
I had the same problem, also solved by reinstalling. Like Milesey, the last thing I installed before the issue was Adobe Air and the new BBC iPlayer Desktop.

euchrid33
December 23rd, 2008, 01:13 PM
Same thing happened to me. You'll be shocked to learn that earlier today I installed Adobe Air. At least we know what's causing it. Any ideas why, though?

cms2337
December 23rd, 2008, 03:14 PM
Thanks,
sudo apt-get --reinstall install gnome-app-install worked for me.

MES5464
December 23rd, 2008, 04:28 PM
Same thing happened to me. You'll be shocked to learn that earlier today I installed Adobe Air. At least we know what's causing it. Any ideas why, though?

Ok. Now I know what my problem is. I installed Adobe Air the other day and then just discovered my Add/Remove Apps was empty. Hmm. Thanks for the help.

johncolescarr
December 23rd, 2008, 09:03 PM
Also happened to me after installing adobe air and new bbc iplayer for unix based machines. I'm sure its not a coincidence, but the fix worked a treat, thanks!!

Partyboi2
December 24th, 2008, 02:33 AM
Has anyone opened a bugreport (https://bugs.launchpad.net/ubuntu)about this problem?

dekaru
December 26th, 2008, 03:34 AM
Has anyone opened a bugreport (https://bugs.launchpad.net/ubuntu)about this problem?


It's easy to do it yourself :)

https://bugs.launchpad.net/ubuntu/+source/gnome-app-install/+bug/311455

Partyboi2
December 26th, 2008, 03:39 AM
It's easy to do it yourself :)

https://bugs.launchpad.net/ubuntu/+source/gnome-app-install/+bug/311455
I would have if I was suffering from the problem :) But thanks for opening the bug hopefully others that have had this problem can confirm the bug and maybe provide any extra info for it.

piojunbabia
December 26th, 2008, 09:18 AM
I could not relate to the topic although i have almost the same problem... i posted a new thread and i need reply so that i could install YM and FF asap... the new thread is here:

http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1021905 or
http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1021905

rohit_kewlani
January 6th, 2009, 03:23 PM
Just do `sudo update-app-install` and the cache would be updated.
We'll have it fixed in the upcomeing AIR release. Thanks for pointing this out.

Rohit Kewlani
Adobe AIR Linux Team

arm-c
January 11th, 2009, 08:59 PM
I too installed Adobe Air... but I want to point out that I DID NOT INSTALL THE ADOBE iBBC Player.... although I did install the Adobe Player (and others).

Thanks for the post. I would have never known about the connection to adobe Air install. It NEVER happened to me when I was beta testing two or three PRE-RELeASE versions... something different in the release. BUT I can say that there was a HUGE step in compatibility between the last pre-release and the final release.

CUDOs to the Adobe Team.

Now, where is the Acrobat Professional I need so desperately??? Seams like they would make one before some OpenSource developer creates a fabulous working version. :)

MilkSjeik
April 4th, 2009, 08:35 AM
Same story, installed Adobe AIR, list empty, reinstalled, all ok now.

phil989
April 15th, 2009, 01:46 PM
Launchpad link:
https://bugs.launchpad.net/gnome-app-install/+bug/311455

It's a problem with AIR, to be fixed by Adobe in the next release.

f1ice
April 24th, 2009, 08:52 PM
Thank you. Problem solved for me. Also happened after installed Abobe Air and BBC iPlayer.

andramaulana
July 2nd, 2009, 11:30 AM
Thank you so much for the solution. Problem appeared after I did an update and installed a couple of softwares on my Jaunty (via Wubi, fresh reinstall this morning)

I don't know about the AdobeAIR connection though, since I was joyfully using DestroyTwitter yesterday before I reinstalled Jaunty and nothing was wrong with the Add/Remove Application List.

Anyways, thanks again and kudos for the solution! ;)