PDA

View Full Version : Strange request

johnno56
December 20th, 2008, 12:50 AM
I have a Vocabulary Quiz program, writen in QBasic that I conveted from TRS80 Basic, and I want to update it with a GUI. I am not a programmer of C (or its variants), Glade etc but would like to have it look at least pleasing to the eye. ASCII can be sooooo boring.

I know that this request may sound strange or vague, but I would like to try and modify the programme. Any tips, hints, suggestions, applications etc would be appreciated.

I am not asking anyone to write it for me. I am just asking for help so that I can do it myself.

If I have submitted this request to the wrong area, please let me know.

Regards

J

mssever
December 20th, 2008, 01:03 AM
I have a Vocabulary Quiz program, writen in QBasic that I conveted from TRS80 Basic, and I want to update it with a GUI. I am not a programmer of C (or its variants), Glade etc but would like to have it look at least pleasing to the eye. ASCII can be sooooo boring.

I know that this request may sound strange or vague, but I would like to try and modify the programme. Any tips, hints, suggestions, applications etc would be appreciated.
You'll have to learn an appropriate GUI toolkit for your program. As far as I know, QBasic isn't available on Linux, so you'll be stuck with Windows and its tools unless you rewrite it in a modern, non-BASIC language.

Glade is for GTK, so you have to use a language that has GTK bindings if you want to use Glade.

ghostdog74
December 20th, 2008, 03:49 AM
I have a Vocabulary Quiz program, writen in QBasic that I conveted from TRS80 Basic, and I want to update it with a GUI.
Just a suggestion. You can use the browser as your basic "GUI". you can create checkboxes, radiobuttons, buttons, etc. For data processing, you can use PHP, (or others.)

johnno56
December 20th, 2008, 09:22 AM
MSServer,