PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Installing Adobe Flash Player Firefox 3.04 in ubuntu 8.10

nabilalk
December 19th, 2008, 05:51 PM
Hi, I'm trying to play music via Pandora.com in Firefox. I downloaded the Adobe Flash Player Firefox Plugin from the Adobe website. Then I installed install_flash_player_10_linux.deb using the Ubuntu built in debian package installer. I restarted Firefox, and I still cant listen to music on Pandora. I then restarted Ubuntu and still no joy.

What do I need to do after the Debian package installer is finished to complete the installation?

Thanks,
nka

BrandonBan6
December 19th, 2008, 05:57 PM
I have troubles with getting anything to work from GUI installers and deb packages...but I'm a bit of a newbie myself.

I like to use:

sudo apt-get update
sudo apt-get install flashplugin-nonfree

Restart Firefox....also, I like Slacker.com over Pandora, but to each to their own I suppose.

nabilalk
December 21st, 2008, 06:41 AM
I have troubles with getting anything to work from GUI installers and deb packages...but I'm a bit of a newbie myself.

I like to use:

sudo apt-get update
sudo apt-get install flashplugin-nonfree

Restart Firefox....also, I like Slacker.com over Pandora, but to each to their own I suppose.

Hi, thanks for the suggestion. Unfortunately, Pandora still is not loading. It says that it is loading but stops. Any other ideas? Perhaps I should reinstall firefox and start with a new profile?

Also, Slacker.com won't play either. What am I missing to get these two sites to play?

BrandonBan6
December 22nd, 2008, 04:21 PM
Hmm, I'm sorry, not to sure myself what is going on there. Perhaps try another browser to see if it is just firefox? Opera or Flock...I think they both have linux compatible browsers.

hyperdude111
December 22nd, 2008, 04:29 PM
This is a solution for all codecs ; dvd, divx, mp4, flash, mp3.....
It is also really easy.

Go Application-Accessories-Terminal