PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Update-Grub failed Ubuntu won't boot

ska8tdude
December 19th, 2008, 01:34 AM
Please forgive me if this thread is in the wrong section, but I believe this should go in the Installation forum.

I have a Gateway P-6831FX Laptop with a Raid0 configuration (2x 250GB HDD). I downloaded the Ubuntu 8.10 Alternate CD (I read that the alternate CD was the easiest way to work with Raid) and partitioned my drive with Partition Magic in Windows XP. I started installing with the Alternate CD and everything went fine until it started to install GRUB. It got to Update-Grub then it failed with a fatal error. So I chose to continue with no bootloader and finished the installation.

Now I can't boot into Ubuntu nor can I access my Windows installation (since there is no bootloader installed). I tried to use the fixmbr and fixboot commands from the Windows Recovery Console to access my Windows install, but that hasn't worked.

I'm very new to Ubuntu and Linux in general so I don't know many of the commands or terminology, but I was hoping someone could offer a suggestion on how to get GRUB installed properly or at least be able to boot into Windows XP. I'd like to not reinstall Windows XP, but if it is absolutely necessary then I suppose I will have to do that. I don't have any super important files on my XP install but would like to keep the files I do have it possible.

If you need anymore information please tell me what you need and I'll do my best to provide the needed information. Thank you for taking the time to read this post, and hopefully we can figure this out.

upchucky
December 19th, 2008, 03:03 AM
look for advanced supergrub, it can fix the bootloader for both win and linux.

while you are searching a very handy live disk to have is knoppix, with these tools you can fix just about any os

caljohnsmith
December 19th, 2008, 03:14 AM
Have you by chance seen this tutorial yet:

https://help.ubuntu.com/community/FakeRaidHowto