PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Installing Themes

DannyP87
December 18th, 2008, 04:37 AM
Sorry to be a pain and noob but I haven't got the slightest idea how to install themes, never mind get the right one.

I've seen plenty on Gnome Art etc but I haven't a clue which one to install or how to. I'm new to linux, just recently installed Ubuntu 8.10.

If I right click on my desktop I can change the themes that are already there no problem, I'm just struggling in finding the right one and how to install it so if anyone can help I'd truly appreciate it.

Thanks

tuxxy
December 18th, 2008, 04:46 AM
DOwnload the theme you want to desktop, open up system > prefs > appearance and drag the .tar file into the theme window.

Yanz
December 27th, 2008, 02:31 PM
Where would I go to find .tar files?

rudihawk
December 27th, 2008, 03:01 PM
Where would I go to find .tar files?

On your local computer? To wherever you saved them. Then just go and drag them into the appearance dialog.

Otherwise you would have to download them first :D

steveneddy
December 27th, 2008, 03:24 PM
Go to:

art.gnome.com

or

gnome-look.org

and find a theme that YOU like.

Download it to your desktop.

Go to your desktop (minimize everything) , right click the desktop. when themenu opens up, select Change Desktop Background.

New window, select the Themes tab, then the install button.

Navigate to the desktop and find the theme that you just downloaded.

Easy peasy.

arepaking
December 27th, 2008, 04:19 PM
Go to:

art.gnome.com

or

gnome-look.org

and find a theme that YOU like.

Download it to your desktop.

Go to your desktop (minimize everything) , right click the desktop. when themenu opens up, select Change Desktop Background.

New window, select the Themes tab, then the install button.

Navigate to the desktop and find the theme that you just downloaded.

Easy peasy.

Hi,
I followed your steps and I downloaded a theme from