PDA

View Full Version : [all variants] Choosing the right desktop for my machine?

300Z
December 18th, 2008, 03:06 AM
Hi all,

I recently installed Kubuntu 8.10 on my machine (older Dell Dimension 3000 box, P4 2.80ghz and 512 RAM), I started to get the hang of things but it's running very very slow... :(
If I don't have any programs running the CPU stays around 12-20% but if I open any programs the CPU pegs at 100% and stays there... :( I tried to tweak things a little but since I'm new to linux I don't know that much. I posted a question about this on the Kubuntu forum and I think the conclusion was that I don't have enough RAM to run Kubuntu. I have win XP installed on the same machine and it runs fairly smoothly...

So the question is, did I messed something up and made Kubuntu run poorly or is Ubuntu or perhaps Xubuntu better suited for my machine?

Cheers.

Leo.

oaxacamatt1
December 18th, 2008, 04:20 AM
Hey 300Z
If your CPU monitor pegs out at 100% after just opening a single prog maybe you might have picked another distro(??). I do happen to know that on two of my machines which sound pretty similar to yours (except I have 2 gigs ram) KDE runs pretty slowly too. I might suggest a couple things.
1. If you have time to fart around keep KUbunut and read up on how to optimize it. Maybe turn off the Compiz special effects, etc, etc. There are other ways too.
2. If you just can't stand KDE then try Ubuntu or XUbuntu. On my machines regular Ubuntu works very nicely. But realize that some programs even in Ubuntu, like Open Office, work slowly (period). Gimp is another one that is huge and slow to start. If you stay away from those you should be all right.
Another point about Xubuntu is that it has a smaller footprint on your HD. It uses smaller (read: faster) progs which can get the job done but still let you experiment with Linux. It all depends what you want...

Take your pick.

Hope that helps,
Matt

300Z
December 18th, 2008, 04:34 AM