PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] x system error?

Spitz13
December 17th, 2008, 12:18 PM
I am completely new to ubuntu and linux in general so please brace with me. I recently decided to install linux and have a dual boot system. So i procedeed to download Mandriva 2009 (the problem is really about ubuntu) but after creating a 5 gigabyte ext3 partition and a 1 gigabite swap partition ( i have 1 gigabyte of RAM) i installed it. but when i tried to boot to it, i would get a corrupted screen, in other words, a bunch of pink and yellows on top of a green background. i rebooted to it, and i pressed cntrl+alt+f1 and i found a command line, in witch i could log in to the account i had created. but i couldn't manage to get into a desktop view of mandriva. Not being able to deal with this problem, i formated the ext3 partition and the swap partition and i installed ubuntu 5.10 only to find it would lead to the same problem, minus the corrupted screen (the one with colors) after booting to ubuntu, i would get a command line, in witch i could log into ubuntu, but i couldn't get to a desktop. Also, before i got to the command line, i got an error about x system (GMD grafical interface) not being able to load. i am so sorry if i cannot express myself in a more advanced way, but i've been using windows my entire life, so i'm new to all this kinda stuff, so please brace with me.

cheers.

joff13
December 17th, 2008, 01:17 PM
Hi,

please help us understand more:

what pc ?
download and use ubuntu 8.04.1 Desktop edition

try to run the live CD and tell us whether it works or not
if not, edit the grub entry and add xforcevesa

Spitz13
December 17th, 2008, 01:43 PM
The pc I'm trying to run ubuntu on is an HP Pavilion dv9008nr:
Processor:1.6 GHz AMD Turion™ 64 X2 Dual-Core
Ram: 1gb DDR2
Video: NVIDIA GeForce Go 6150 (UMA) [I think this might have something to do with the corrupted screen I got on mandriva]