PDA

View Full Version : [all variants] wifi Intel 5350



mikhmv
December 16th, 2008, 03:41 PM
Hi,
Does exist possibility to use intel 5350 wifi card in linux?

Thanks advance.

mikhmv
December 16th, 2008, 05:34 PM
I have bought lenovo T500 notebook with Intel 5350 wifi/wimax card. And WiFi didn't work on kubuntu 8.1.
Device recognized like:
03:00.0 Intel Corporation Device 423b


Please help me to make it work.

Martey
December 17th, 2008, 06:00 AM
I also have a T500 with a wireless card with the same PCI ID. I created a bug to track this issue at https://bugs.launchpad.net/ubuntu/+source/linux/+bug/308848

mikhmv
December 17th, 2008, 04:56 PM
Thanks Martey.
Look like I have to install kernel 2.6.28.
How can I install it?

Martey
December 17th, 2008, 07:41 PM
First, 2.6.28 does not seem to actually have been released yet - all of the information I can find suggests that it is still in release candidate mode. However, it or 2.6.29 should appear in the next version of Ubuntu (9.04/Jaunty Jackalope) - packages for 2.6.28 already exist for that version.

On another thread, http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=969340 , someone suggested using the KernelCheck program to build a custom 2.6.28 kernel. I have never used that program before, so I can speak to neither its capabilities nor its ease of use.

Martey
December 20th, 2008, 05:01 AM
If anyone is interested, I was able to use the instructions at https://wiki.ubuntu.com/KernelTeam/GitKernelBuild to build a custom 2.6.28 kernel while still using Ubuntu 8.10. I did not have to make any configuration changes (the instructions include copying over the standard Ubuntu kernel config file), and wireless now works!

mikhmv
December 22nd, 2008, 05:33 AM
thanks.
I installed ubuntu 9.04 and wifi now working

dzuchowski
September 3rd, 2009, 10:24 PM
thanks.
I installed ubuntu 9.04 and wifi now working

the intel 5350 works with opensuse 11.1 and with the livecd of 9.1 beta should work with 9.04 as well. atleast the wifi works i live in indianapolis and as far as i know we do not have wimax yet