PDA

View Full Version : [gnome] [SOLVED] vi in xterm



crowhill
December 16th, 2008, 03:13 AM
Hi there

I did some "googleing" on how to copy and past a selection in a vi session (in xterm) to another vi session. To be more precise, I have two terminal windows (xterm) open and vi is running in both of them. How can I copy text from one session to the other? I'm sorry, I really couldn't find anything that works.

Thanks a lot in advance,
cheers,
crowhill.

ja660k
December 16th, 2008, 03:24 AM
im not sure if you can do that, but the cmd to yank or copy is y for one line.. or y X where x is the number of lines,

and try go into the other xterm and p paste it in...

i heard somewhere that this is not possible, because it doesnt copy to the "clipboard" or something

crowhill
December 16th, 2008, 03:39 AM
First of all, thx a lot for your answer. I really appreciate the prompt reaction.

Unfortunately, it's not working (I tried it before I approached this forum).

Now, I'm very much looking forward to other ideas :)

Cheers,
crowhill.




im not sure if you can do that, but the cmd to yank or copy is y for one line.. or y X where x is the number of lines,

and try go into the other xterm and p paste it in...

i heard somewhere that this is not possible, because it doesnt copy to the "clipboard" or something

crowhill
December 16th, 2008, 03:56 AM
I just figured it out (sorry :)).

1. go to visual mode with v
2. select your stuff
3. type "+ y (with the quotation mark!) to copy to the clipboard
4. go to the other window
5. paste with p
... done!

Cheers,
crowhill.

kerry_s
December 16th, 2008, 03:56 AM
hold left click drag to highlight text to be copied, middle click to paste in other term.