PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Need installation help!!

Chiron090
December 15th, 2008, 10:07 PM
Hi, thanks in advance for the help. To begin with, let me say that I am very new to Ubuntu and Linux, and my knowledge of computers in general is quite lacking, so I may need a good deal of help.

First off, I have an Hp Pav. ZE4400, with an AMD Athlon 4 2400+ processor, currently running Windows XP. In short, this comp is OLD and will not run windows well so I am trying to completely switch to Ubuntu Desktop 8.10.

Let me also say that I have (after much much trying) finally gotten Wubi, in Windows, to run Ubuntu. (I'm on it now) Everything seems functional, all of my hardware, so I don't think that is an issue.

Now, as far as actually installing it as my OS, I've gotten all important files off my comp in preparation. I have downloaded the live cd and burned it to an ISO image using InfraRecorder. When I pop it in, restart, enter BIOS, and select boot from CD-ROM I get the correct screen. I have checked the CD for defects, fine as far as I can tell. If I select "try without changes to comp" it will begin loading and one of several things will happen every time. A long list of errors, a blinking cursor that does nothing, or the comp will spontaneously restart or turn off. This is the same when I try to just install it. Also, I had similar problems trying to get Wubi to work, it will run perfectly about 1/16 of time though.

Reading other posts I have tried pressing f3/f6 (I can't remember w/o being there) and typing 'acpi=off' and that did not work. Although, I don't know if I did thet correctly. I have tried writing the cd at slower speeds, and I have tried installing version 7.10, all with no success.