PDA

View Full Version : python find and replace

drizzle
December 15th, 2008, 10:00 PM
I am new to python scripting and this doesn't sound like it should be difficult, but I've spent several hours trying to figure it out with no luck. I want to:

open a text file
search for a string and replace with another string
write it back out to the same file name

I've seen lots of suggestions on how to read a string and replace text but never on how to write the file back out. With bash scripting I used sed, but I don't know what to do in python.

Thanks in advance.

mssever
December 15th, 2008, 10:13 PM
Assuming the file is open for writing, just use
the_file.write(your_modified_string)

drizzle
December 15th, 2008, 10:24 PM
Using what I know right now, here's what I'm trying to do:

f=open('testfile','r+').read()
m=f.replace('text','new_text')
print m
m.write()

print m writes out what I want to be in the file, but I get an error when I try to write m to a file like that. I'd rather just write back out to my original file name, but I'll take what I can get at this point.

Thanks.

mssever
December 15th, 2008, 10:34 PM
Using what I know right now, here's what I'm trying to do:

f=open('testfile','r+').read()
m=f.replace('text','new_text')
print m
m.write()print m writes out what I want to be in the file, but I get an error when I try to write m to a file like that. I'd rather just write back out to my original file name, but I'll take what I can get at this point.

Thanks.
You don't have your file object available. Try this instead:
from __future__ import with_statement

with open('testfile','r+') as f:
m = f.read().replace('text','new_text')
print m
f.write(m)EDIT: When writing files, be sure to close them when your finished, unless you're using the with statement as in my example.

drizzle
December 15th, 2008, 10:51 PM
I get a syntax error on the with open(....) line.