PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] [SOLVED] Do I need anti-virus/spyware software?

jalehtor
December 15th, 2008, 07:05 PM
I'm new to Ubuntu, and have it installed on a completely stripped machine--no windows on it. Will I need to install a program like Avast to keep Ubuntu safe from viruses? I've heard that Ubuntu does not get viruses, but I wanted to double check--I'm an xp/Vista survivor, so anti-virus/spyware programs seem like absolute necessities to me.

oilchangeguy
December 15th, 2008, 07:11 PM
I'm new to Ubuntu, and have it installed on a completely stripped machine--no windows on it. Will I need to install a program like Avast to keep Ubuntu safe from viruses? I've heard that Ubuntu does not get viruses, but I wanted to double check--I'm an xp/Vista survivor, so anti-virus/spyware programs seem like absolute necessities to me.

read this:
http://www.psychocats.net/ubuntu/security

nhasian
December 15th, 2008, 07:12 PM
you dont need it, but if you have to have an anti virus program you can install clamav.

sudo apt-get install clamav

and if you want a graphical from end for clamav:

sudo apt-get install clamtk

Achetar
December 15th, 2008, 07:12 PM
It is a good idea to have antivirus software if only to keep yourself from passing email viri on to friends.

Michael.Godawski
December 15th, 2008, 07:15 PM
hi, humbly adding my article:
http://godawski.oxyhost.com/viruslinux.html

NewJack
December 15th, 2008, 07:24 PM
Here is a post you should have a look at in addition to the Psychocats site to give yourself a clearer picture of security in Ubuntu. It was made by bodhizazen:

http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=510812

PocketDog
December 15th, 2008, 07:25 PM
The chances of you unintentionally sending someone a virus and them being infected by it is so close to zero it would make a mathematician's eyes water. No, you don't need an anti-virus.

Nepherte
December 15th, 2008, 07:27 PM