PDA

View Full Version : Trying a different distro

Psquared
December 9th, 2005, 04:09 PM
I've been using Linux since the summer of 2004. Started with FC2. I tweaked it pretty hard and finally pushed it too far and it failed. Then I decided to try Ubuntu. Started with Warty then distro-upgraded to Hoary then to Breezy. Again, I started tweaking. Warty stood up to my tweaking as did Hoary. Breezy started out fine but installing E17 finished it off.

So I tried reinstalling Breezy but it kept failing. I decided to try another distro so I went to distrowatch and picked Mandriva 2006. Mandriva is supposed to be one of the easiest distros to install and configure.

I have to say that I have it up and running and configured how I want it in less time that either Fedora or Ubuntu. Part of that is due to my experience - I'm not a novice anymore, but part of it is due to the methodology used by Mandriva.

I installed on a Toshiba laptop using about one-half of my 60 gig harddrive. Xpee is on the other half.

Mandriva installs a base system to get you up and running, and then you go back and add the stuff you need. KDE and Gnome are installed side-by-side and do the best job of sharing apps I've seen. I had a little trouble setting up my internet, but I started out using my ethernet card and it detected my wireless card. It told me I needed the firmware to get it to work and even told me where to get the firmware and where to install it. Boom, wifi is working like a charm.

Mandriva has an auto-update feature that notifies you of updates. It does not work too well. It took 5 tries to finish the update, but that may have been due to my inexperience with the distro.

The appearance of Mandriva is only so-so. I found the themes and backgrounds and now it looks better. I have not figured out how to change the appearance of the login screen in GDM. That is pretty ugly.