PDA

View Full Version : Altered totem source, installed, wont run

hapveg
December 15th, 2008, 01:56 AM
Ubuntu 8.10, Totem 2.24.3

This is my first try altering the source code of anything in ubuntu, so I'm probably making a newbie mistake, but I can't seem to see it.

As a project I want to download the Totem source and alter the mouse wheel to only jump back 3 seconds.

I've downloaded the totem source from http://projects.gnome.org/totem/

I've altered the source to only jump back 3 seconds instead of 5.

I've installed a bunch of required packages.

I've run ./configure, make, make check and sudo make install

Now when I double click a movie my mouse pointer turns to the loading pointer for about 10 seconds, then returns to normal.

Totem doesn't start though. I've tried running it through the Applications menu, and the same thing happens.

What am I doing wrong?

Tim Sharitt
December 15th, 2008, 02:11 AM
Try to run it from a terminal and see what (if any) error messages it gives you.

hapveg
December 15th, 2008, 03:06 AM
Running totem from a new shell (in my home directory) causes a normal, unmodified Totem to run.

Running 'totem' in /usr/local/bin, or running 'totem' in the directory I was running config / make / make install from gives the following error:

totem: error while loading shared libraries: libbaconvideowidget.so.0: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory

I'm not having much luck solving this myself, so advice is appreciated.

Tim Sharitt
December 15th, 2008, 06:06 AM
I'm not real sure what to tell you. I don't know what you could have changed to cause that problem. I would think that configure would check for dependencies and either throw an error or configure without the library.
However, if it is something built with totem, there may have been a problem with the installation.
Have you tried to run ./totem inside the src folder in the totem directory (ex. totem-(version)/src)? I built it my self and it ran from there fine.