PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] [SOLVED] operate win computer with ubuntu on another through network

captainron042
December 15th, 2008, 01:16 AM
I'm pretty new at Linux, so please keep that in mind with any advice. I had ubuntu pre-installed from Dell. This is a networking question, and I wasn't super great with networking in the windows world, either.

I still have my old computer with Windows XP. I also have a Dell Inspirion currently running Hardy heron 8.04. They are both wired into a router (Belkin G+MIMO).

I would like to:

1. share files between the two through the network.
2. Operate my win machine through my linux machine.
My linux machine is connected to my home theater, but I cannot watch netflix on it because online movies are not compatible. If I could see my windows desktop through the linux machine, I could transfer the picture to my projector. Connecting my windows computer to the Home theater would just suck, for hardware reasons.

Any help you guys can give would be much appreciated.
:popcorn:

nixscripter
December 15th, 2008, 02:18 AM
Here are some places to start:

1. SMB is a way to share files over the network. Here's a start: http://www.faqs.org/docs/Linux-HOWTO/SMB-HOWTO.html

2. Controlling either machine can be done with VNC. There is a free version here: http://www.realvnc.com/

I'm not sure about netflix movies, because VNC can be pretty slow updating sometimes. Supposedly they will soon start supporting Linux; I suggest you wait for that.

Hope this helps.

captainron042
December 17th, 2008, 07:35 PM
Thanks! I'll look into that, but they've been saying they might support Linux for a while now.

When I had a free couple of months of Canonical, they guy over the phone told me that when I get a router, he could "show me how to share the desktop". It sounded like there was something already installed or could be installed to do that for free.