PDA

View Full Version : [kubuntu] Install Kubuntu (8.10) on Ubuntu 8.10 so they coexist, with Alternate Install CD

W.Sorting
December 14th, 2008, 07:17 PM
Hello,

I'm wondering how to install Kubuntu 8.10 on Ubuntu 8.10, so they coexist.

I want the final configuration to be able to choose between KDE and Gnome at 'sessions'.

I have the Kubuntu 8.10 Alternate Install CD available, and I already have an Ubuntu box.

How do I go about doing this?

I apologize if it's a simple operation-- I'm still a newbie!

Thank you,
W.Sorting

Bucky Ball
December 14th, 2008, 07:19 PM
You could just install KDE by itself,

http://www.kde.org/download/#v4.1

that could possibly also be in Synaptics along with:

kubuntu-desktop

Search for that as it will load kde along with the themes, artwork and packages also though.

W.Sorting
December 16th, 2008, 10:28 PM
Yes, but I have the Alternate CD available and downloading KDE would be impractical for me (extremely slow connection). Is there a way I can do this with only the Alternate CD?

Bucky Ball
December 17th, 2008, 10:14 AM
** I wrote the Alternate Method before I figured out a much simpler way just below, which can be done using the GUI(s) and no terminal. If it doesn't work, try the alternative ...

Head to:

System->Administration->Software Sources (I think, have been using Xubuntu and slightly different setup - you will find Software Sources somewhere).

, unlock and you will see a window at the bottom that says:

To install from cd-rom or a dvd, insert etc, etc,...

Follow your nose. Once this is added to your sources, you may find when you close the software sources window the machine may want to do an automatic update. Do that. The system should check to see what is available to install from the cd. After this you should now be able to go to Synaptic Package manager and find

kubuntu-desktop

(or you can use 'sudo apt-get install kubuntu-desktop' in a terminal)