PDA

View Full Version : Eight Queens Problem, complex problem solving

luke77
December 14th, 2008, 07:06 PM
Hi guys,

I am a new programmer, and I'm doing it on my own so I'm finding that it's easy to develop bad habits. I came across the "eight queens" problem online and decided to write a script to solve it iteratively, without using recursion. I know it can be done with much less code with a recursive method, but I did it this way to try to develop good program design. My first try was a disaster; I tend to try to go as quickly as possible and not split up different methods into different functions, so when I come across a problem it's impossible to find out where it is. So for my second try I rewrote things, trying to separate processes into smaller methods (like makeBoard, isValidPos,etc.) instead of cramming it into one function. I also made a "Queens" class so that I don't have to pass the board to every single function. Anyways, I've spent quite a bit of time debugging "version two" and my code still is not working properly, so, I'd appreciate it if anyone could take a look to see where my code is hanging up. I'm also welcome to any comments or criticisms of my structure - like I said, I'm pretty much coming up with this on my own so I'm sure there is probably a better way to organize things. Thanks very much (code below).