PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] [SOLVED] Installing Ubuntu 8.10 to USB thumb drive...

ragtag
December 13th, 2008, 10:48 PM
I'm trying to install Ubuntu 8.10 to a thumb drive on my HP TC4400 and am having problems with it. I've been running Ubuntu on my workstation for a few years, but have some srange issues on my laptop.

The reason I'm not installing it to the disk is that I would rather not mess with the Windows XP install on it. TabletPCs with WinXP don't come with the install cd. Why on earth someone at Microsoft thought that was a good idea I have no idea!

Anyways. I install from the boot screen (not using the desktop icon, as the installer there doesn't find the thumb drive). The first attempt at installing the install was running for a while and then just stopped with the desktop image and nothing else. The second time, it stopped at 82% and Configuring apt-get. The second time I also partioned the USB drive manually just in case.

I know people run Ubuntu on the TC4400, so I'm not sure what the problem is. Any ideas?

December 13th, 2008, 11:00 PM
have you tryed booting a usb device on this computer be for ?

how old do you think the computer is?

December 13th, 2008, 11:04 PM
i had this problem for a long time on this computer i gust had th edit my BIOS a bit

ragtag
December 14th, 2008, 01:56 AM
I got it working the third time around without really doing anything different. Just a dog standard install. Though I've no idea why it failed the first couple of times, maybe there are faulty blocks on the thumb drive. I just bought it today and haven't tested it before.

It is a bit slow though. hdparm -t gives me 18 MB/sec, while the built in drive gets 40 MB/sec (probably a 4500rpm drive). Now I just have to play around with getting the Tablet functionality working. :)

miniyak
December 14th, 2009, 08:48 PM
hmm good info to keep in mind, i just picked up one of these for free and it has been dropped