PDA

View Full Version : New & Enthused

jacobroecker
December 13th, 2008, 06:30 AM
I've been using linux for a few months now, but have tried it on and off for several years. This time the switch was successful. So successful in fact, that I've begun recommending it to many of my friends.

There's a lot of comments by the Linux community about Windows, and how Linux is better. I'm still green enough to see both sides of the coin. Without Microsoft's efforts and GUIs many of my relatives would have never used a computer. It would make it more difficult to stay in contact. Life would be a bit harder.

I might get blacklisted for saying this but, thank you to Microsoft. I know I'm too new to predict that the software giant's days are numbered. I will watch with curiosity to see if other people who have made the prediction are correct. I am also watching to see if those who profess that there is no competition have some merit as well.

Ubuntu's popularity has lead to a lot of 'cleaning up' of things those of us from the MS world take for granted. It's nice to be able to install apps using deb files from websites. It's nice to have a synaptic package manager to help sort them out. It's nice to have my computer stop acting like it's underpowered. My machine is way more responsive on Ubuntu then on anything else! That alone has me sold.

Then I discovered Edubuntu and introduced it to my kids. My daughter loves math more than she did before. My son loves the matching games. They don't really understand they're being educated, they're just having fun. The pricetag for such things was a phenomenal FREE! For someone struggling to get out of debt this was great news!

I would like to say "thank you" to everyone involved, but I don't think I can say it enough.