PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Media Player Under Linux - Girl in Need

EricaMae999
December 13th, 2008, 01:27 AM
Hello Everybody,

First to introduce myself, I am a total beginner to the linux scene. I'm am running it on my second desktop and so far I love it, even though it can be frustrating.

Anyway... my first problem.

I like to watch movies on http://themoviepit.org/ on my windows box, but so far I haven't been able to get most of them to work under linux. Namely Veoh movies and Divx movies. Can anybody help? These are the best quality movies and I hate having to switch to windows every time I want to kick back and enjoy a movie....

Thanks!

Erica :)

tuxxy
December 13th, 2008, 01:43 AM
Did you install the codecs needed to play the movies? it works fine here so assume you didnt.

If its a fresh ubuntu installation you will want to download the ubuntu-restricted-extras package this provides Flash, Java, Codecs etc open a terminal and enter

sudo apt-get install ubuntu-restricted-extras

Try this and see if it works, also you could install VLC a great media player that comes with codecs also.

sudo apt-get install vlc

arjay27529
December 19th, 2008, 12:49 AM
have attempted the commands listed above with these results:

Reading package lists... Done
Building dependency tree
Reading state information... Done
E: Couldn't find package ubuntu-restricted-extras

sudo apt-get install vlc

Building dependency tree
Package vlc is not available, but is referred to by another package.
This may mean that the package is missing, has been obsoleted, or
is only available from another source
E: Package vlc has no installation candidate

am a linux newbie i have no idea where to go or what to do next.