PDA

View Full Version : Couldn't a time-based login prevent brute force attacks?

aysiu
December 13th, 2008, 12:48 AM
I've often read that strong passwords are good. I understand that weak ones (dictionary phrases) are easy to crack.

Please keep in mind that I don't know that much about technical details of things. I am not a programmer. So in your explanations and corrections, talk to me as if I'm a moron.

How difficult would it be to make logins time-based?

In other words, for a remote login, making it so that after the first and second failed attempts to log in to a particular account, you'd have to wait 5 seconds to log in for that particular account, and then after the third failed attempt, you'd have to wait an extra 10 seconds and so on. If there were ten failed attempts coming from the same source, that source would no longer be able to log in for the next 24 hours, and even if that source tried to log in with a correct username and password, it would be denied.

Is this not implemented because it would be difficult to identify a source? Even so, forcing at least a 5-second delay would significantly increase the time it would take for an automated program to go through every single possible dictionary word.

I think I've seen time-based logins before (I forget in what context). Why aren't they more common? And why wouldn't they then make dictionary-word passwords more secure than they currently are?

DOS4dinner
December 13th, 2008, 01:30 AM
At my highschool, if you put in the wrong password 5 times it blocks your account. I would assume most systems would have something like that.

thegreatbitbucket
December 13th, 2008, 01:32 AM
I don't know how hard that would be to implement (I'm not a programmer myself). But, it surprises me that something like that isn't already implemented. It's an extremely good idea.