dgoddard1
December 12th, 2008, 05:28 AM
I am kind of new at Ubuntu but
I have just reinstalled
-- Ubuntu 8.04
-- Kernel 2.5.24-16-generic
-- Gnome2.22.1
On my Dell Studio 1535 laptop.

I ran Update manager and after it did some internet accessing it came back and told me it had found 1049 updates for me. It preselected all of them, most of them look like they have nothing to do with my interests. (e.g. a vast number of language pack items for languages most I have not even heard of before)

I can only seem to deselect them one at a time so I figured I would install all of them. After it got my password, it caqme back with a dire warning:
---
"You are about to install software that can't be authenticated!
Doing this could allow a malicious individual to damage or take control of your system."
---
the two that were listed under "NOT AUTHENTICATED" were
linux-ubuntu-moules-2.6.24-16-generic
linux-ubuntu-modules-2.6.24-22-generic
There were 12 listed under "To be installed"
The rest were listed under "To be upgraded"

It is impractical is to try to go through the list and pick and choose because the brief explanations are mostly meaningless to me

What is the real risk of just installing all of of them.

Is this going to tie up my computer for hours? Because the only broad band available to me is at the public library where they have wireless available to the patrons.

Is there some way to deslect them in a more efficient manner than one at a time for 1049 individual decisions

2hot6ft2
December 12th, 2008, 05:48 AM
I am kind of new at Ubuntu but
I have just reinstalled
-- Ubuntu 8.04
-- Kernel 2.5.24-16-generic
-- Gnome2.22.1
On my Dell Studio 1535 laptop.

I ran Update manager and after it did some internet accessing it came back and told me it had found 1049 updates for me. It preselected all of them, most of them look like they have nothing to do with my interests. (e.g. a vast number of language pack items for languages most I have not even heard of before)