PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Dual Boot/Error 15/How to Uninstall???

WackyCat
December 12th, 2008, 01:51 AM
Hello: I am having the following problem: For several months, I have been experimenting with Ubuntu, and I had it dual booting with XP. I have to uninstall Ubuntu, but cannot figure out how to do it without reformatting the drive and losing all of my XP programs. I tried booting with the XP CD, using Recovery Console and the FIXMBR and FIXBOOT commands, but this did not seem to do anything...except now when the dual boot menu comes up and I select Ubuntu, I get Error 15. Any help would be appreciated (please note that I am a complete newbie as far as Ubuntu goes).

Thanks, Steve

Partyboi2
December 12th, 2008, 02:40 AM
To uninstall ubuntu you can boot a ubuntu live cd and go to gparted (System>Admin>Partition Editor) and delete your ubuntu installation. Then you would boot the xp disk to recovery and use the fixmbr command.

caljohnsmith
December 12th, 2008, 02:50 AM
Do you have more than one HDD? Or do you have Ubuntu installed inside of Windows (Wubi install)? In other words, in Windows do you have a C:\ubuntu directory? How about booting your Live CD, open a terminal (applications > accessories > terminal), and post the output of:

sudo fdisk -lu
Also, for each of the drives fdisk lists, like sda, sdb, etc, please post the output of:

sudo xxd -l 2 -p /dev/sda
So replace "sda" above with each of your drives. Note "-l" is a lowercase L, not a one. That will help clarify your setup.

WackyCat
December 12th, 2008, 03:32 AM