PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Help a newbie with install of ubuntu 8.04 i386

bellamama68
December 11th, 2008, 11:12 PM
I'm hoping someone can help me. I am pretty new to ubuntu and had installed a previous version, later updating to 8.04. I had problems trying to make updates to 8.04 and thought that if I purchased a CD and did a fresh install, I would be okay. When I load the CD, an icon comes up on the desktop "Ubuntu 8.04 i386." When I double-click it, I have all of these files available to me, but I don't know where to start. I chose "install" which seemed to make the most sense, but when I click on that, I'm faced with yet more choices which don't seem to work.

If someone does respond to this post, please be very specific if possible with the steps I should take. I've been searching all over the internet for help, but I don't often understand the solutions.

Thank you so much!

sneeks
December 11th, 2008, 11:14 PM
what type of install are u trying,a full install,or wubi?

Michael.Godawski
December 11th, 2008, 11:16 PM
hi bellamama68,

first of all do not be scared :p.

Tell us please in which operating system you are right now.

Do you want to install Ubuntu? Or did you already managed to install it, some time in the past?

karlr42
December 11th, 2008, 11:17 PM
You need to reboot, then boot from the CD like you did when you first installed Ubuntu. Then you can install the new install over your current one.

Duck2006
December 11th, 2008, 11:17 PM
If you are installing a Wubi this will help.

http://www.psychocats.net/ubuntu/wubi

If not this will help.

http://www.psychocats.net/ubuntu/dualboot

bellamama68
December 12th, 2008, 01:38 AM