PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] Need to Automate a Script - Interactive input

navneeth
December 11th, 2008, 07:28 PM
Disclaimer: I have no prior experience in shell scripting, and I have just begun learning a thing or two.

I have script called RunRadioRip.sh, which when executed asks for the URL of a Real audio stream, and then it asks for the name of the (mp3) file under which this audio stream will be stored later. Also, I have to press Enter/Return key each time after providing the information.

I want to download a set of four streams, and I want that to happen after a certain time and while I'm asleep; but don't bother about the "certain time" part... I'll start it and then go to sleep. :)

I know that I have to call this conversion script four times, but how do I provided the input -- I tried echo, but that seemed silly later -- and also "press" Enter?

I'd appreciate any help.

mssever
December 11th, 2008, 07:55 PM
Disclaimer: I have no prior experience in shell scripting, and I have just begun learning a thing or two.

I have script called RunRadioRip.sh, which when executed asks for the URL of a Real audio stream, and then it asks for the name of the (mp3) file under which this audio stream will be stored later. Also, I have to press Enter/Return key each time after providing the information.

I want to download a set of four streams, and I want that to happen after a certain time and while I'm asleep; but don't bother about the "certain time" part... I'll start it and then go to sleep. :)

I know that I have to call this conversion script four times, but how do I provided the input -- I tried echo, but that seemed silly later -- and also "press" Enter?

I'd appreciate any help.
The right way is to modify the script to accept command-line parameters. Otherwise, running