PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] [SOLVED] Is there an OpenOffice Spreadsheet Expert in the House???

suomalainen
December 11th, 2008, 07:16 PM
Ubunteros,

This may not be the place for this post, and if it isn't, please advise where is.... Thanks

I got this problem. I have an Excel spreadsheet I imported into Ubuntu 8.04LTS. But for some strange reason it isn't correctly adding my numbers nor allowing me to MANUALLY enter "Item Categories" that explain certain credits and debits.

Is there an expert in the house that can check out my spreadsheet to see what is wrong?

Perhaps an OpenOffice spreadsheet calculation formula needs to be used which I don't know how to use?

If anyone can assist I can send the spreadsheet anyway you like. Including posting it here.

Thank you

gettinoriginal
December 11th, 2008, 07:27 PM
Is this an actual Windows Excel that you imported, or is it Open Office ?? I am not an expert, but have set up and use spreadsheets at work and at home, so if interested, I would be willing to try to help you.

Therion
December 11th, 2008, 07:30 PM
I live and die by Excel and Calc, though I wouldn't call myself an "expert". But anyway, yeah... Bring it on. Emailing me the workbook would be the easiest thing so we're both looking at the same thing at the same time. Also, if you use IM my Yahoo! ID is in my pro and I'm currently available. Slow day at the office, dontcha know...

suomalainen
December 11th, 2008, 07:49 PM
Fellow Ubunteros!

Thank you for offering me assistance.

Here is some background on the spreadsheet. Please let me know if anything is unclear.

Columns "C" to "L" will contain dollar values. These dollar values can be either positive or negative.