PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Daul Boot

-Cluster-
December 11th, 2008, 05:11 PM
A simple question:

I have installed ubuntu on to my laptop using the entire of my disk.

Can i install windows as well with out loosing ubuntu if so a brief description of what to do in the xp setup would be amazing

Libux
December 11th, 2008, 05:16 PM
i think you cant install windows xp without loosing ubuntu
you can make a partition and then install xp but you will lose ubuntu

meindian523
December 11th, 2008, 05:29 PM
You could,AFAIK,if you had not installed Ubuntu over your entire disk.As to how it would work IF you had installed it into a partition,I dunno,because of the resellers always pre-installing Windows and I've had no experience installing Windows from a CD.Wait around for other opinions though.

EDIT: Do check the thread linked in my signature for newbies.

icanfly0307
December 11th, 2008, 06:10 PM
If you already have XP on your computer and want to install Ubuntu, you can obviously dual boot both operating systems. The good news is that you don't have to configure anything. The Ubuntu installer will automatically detect XP and give an option to boot from Ubuntu or XP when your computer starts up.

However, if you want to install XP from your system recovery disks after you've installed Ubuntu, your Ubuntu installation will be erased and XP will replace it.

Hope This Helps. :)

jenkinbr
December 11th, 2008, 06:24 PM
You could,AFAIK,if you had not installed Ubuntu over your entire disk.As to how it would work IF you had installed it into a partition,I dunno,because of the resellers always pre-installing Windows and I've had no experience installing Windows from a CD.Wait around for other opinions though.

EDIT: Do check the thread linked in my signature for newbies.