PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Multiple Hard Drives



simeoncastle
December 11th, 2008, 02:34 AM
3-day-old Linux baby here.
Basically, when I finally worked out that it didnt like 6Gb of RAM it installed (4th time lucky...) I now find that it reads my first and second drives which are relatively low capacity, high r/w time drives but not my other two.
Interestingly, my Ubuntu is installed on my 3rd drive.
Anyway, I'm trying to get a huge download of something onto my big storage drive and it can't find it.
Does Linux have a cap on hard drives as it does Ram?
Any help massively appreciated!
Thanks

Rocket2DMn
December 11th, 2008, 02:43 AM
The chances are the drive isn't mounted. Can you please post the output from terminal of

sudo fdisk -l
cat /etc/fstab
sudo blkid
mount
What size is the hard drive you are trying to get to?

73ckn797
December 11th, 2008, 02:47 AM
4 hard drives with Intrepid is no problem here. one WinXP, one Intrepid 8.10, 2 general data/backup drives.

markbuntu
December 11th, 2008, 03:13 AM
Are these drives all SATA drives or are some PATA or Raid?
I have 4 hard drives all SATA, 2 320GB, 1 160GB, 1 250GB with hardy i386, hardy amd64, intrepid amd64 and MAndriva 2009 on them with a bunch of partitions and unpartitioned free space. All the distros can see all the other drives and partitions.

modmadmike
December 11th, 2008, 03:40 AM
"64-bit Linux allows up to 128 TB of address space for individual processes, and can address approximately 246 (64 TB) of physical memory, subject to processor and system limitations." -Wikipedia

So if you Have x86_64 then 6gb should be no prob.

simeoncastle
December 11th, 2008, 02:22 PM
Thanks to madmike for the 64bit comment, I'll get onto RAM once I've sorted the hard drives.

Hard drives, 320Gb and 1.5Tb respectively. All SATA, no RAID array althought may consider it in future... Maybe.
I'll just reboot & check Rockets command, hang about.
Ta :)

simeoncastle
December 11th, 2008, 02:36 PM
Ookay, I won't ask for a translation, I'll get there when I'm good and ready, heh, but any layman's interpretation would be good - particularly bad headache right now so can't be sat too long staring at a screen.

simeon@simeon-desktop:~$ sudo fdisk -l
sudo: unable to resolve host simeon-desktop

Disk /dev/sda: 74.3 GB, 74355769344 bytes
255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 9039 cylinders
Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes
Disk identifier: 0x64f930e4

Device Boot Start End Blocks Id System
/dev/sda1 * 1 9040 72610816 7 HPFS/NTFS

Disk /dev/sdb: 74.3 GB, 74355769344 bytes
255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 9039 cylinders
Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes
Disk identifier: 0x82d4fbe5

Device Boot Start End Blocks Id System
/dev/sdb1 1 9040 72610816 7 HPFS/NTFS

Disk /dev/sdc: 1500.3 GB, 1500301910016 bytes
255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 182401 cylinders
Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes
Disk identifier: 0x37cec0fa

Device Boot Start End Blocks Id System
/dev/sdc2 * 2 182401 1465128000 5 Extended
/dev/sdc5 2 182401 1465127968+ 7 HPFS/NTFS

Disk /dev/sdd: 400.0 GB, 400088457216 bytes
255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 48641 cylinders
Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes
Disk identifier: 0x48bf55d5

Device Boot Start End Blocks Id System
/dev/sdd1 1 48642 390709248 7 HPFS/NTFS
simeon@simeon-desktop:~$ cat /etc/fstab
# /etc/fstab: static file system information.
#
# <file system> <mount point> <type> <options> <dump> <pass>
proc /proc proc defaults 0 0
/host/ubuntu/disks/root.disk / ext3 loop,errors=remount-ro 0 1
/host/ubuntu/disks/boot /boot none bind 0 0
/host/ubuntu/disks/swap.disk none swap loop,sw 0 0
/dev/hda /media/cdrom0 udf,iso9660 user,noauto,exec,utf8 0 0
/dev/hdb /media/cdrom1 udf,iso9660 user,noauto,exec,utf8 0 0
/dev/fd0 /media/floppy0 auto rw,user,noauto,exec,utf8 0 0
simeon@simeon-desktop:~$ sudo blkid
sudo: unable to resolve host simeon-desktop
/dev/sda1: UUID="9C76914076911C58" LABEL="Primary" TYPE="ntfs"
/dev/sdb1: UUID="44667CD2667CC5E8" LABEL="Virtual Memory" TYPE="ntfs"
/dev/sdc5: UUID="F7083C722CA633C5" LABEL="Slave Disk 2" TYPE="ntfs"
/dev/sdd1: UUID="C4E8D4CFE8D4C13A" LABEL="Slave Disk 1" TYPE="ntfs"
/dev/loop0: UUID="c5792e9a-6e08-4f1b-819a-ec47ebe887e1" TYPE="ext3"
simeon@simeon-desktop:~$ mount
/host/ubuntu/disks/root.disk on / type ext3 (rw,errors=remount-ro)
proc on /proc type proc (rw,noexec,nosuid,nodev)
/sys on /sys type sysfs (rw,noexec,nosuid,nodev)
varrun on /var/run type tmpfs (rw,noexec,nosuid,nodev,mode=0755)
varlock on /var/lock type tmpfs (rw,noexec,nosuid,nodev,mode=1777)
udev on /dev type tmpfs (rw,mode=0755)
devshm on /dev/shm type tmpfs (rw)
devpts on /dev/pts type devpts (rw,gid=5,mode=620)
lrm on /lib/modules/2.6.24-19-generic/volatile type tmpfs (rw)
/host/ubuntu/disks/boot on /boot type none (rw,bind)
securityfs on /sys/kernel/security type securityfs (rw)
gvfs-fuse-daemon on /home/simeon/.gvfs type fuse.gvfs-fuse-daemon (rw,nosuid,nodev,user=simeon)

hyper_ch
December 11th, 2008, 04:33 PM
(1) it's advised to use
brackets around each output from a command or file content. That makes it easier to read.

(2) in addition also post the output of:


df -h

simeoncastle
December 11th, 2008, 04:44 PM
Learning fast... *winces* Sorry, I'll take it onboard and improve.

Rocket2DMn
December 11th, 2008, 10:51 PM
OK there is a lot of information there. The mount command shows your root filesystem device as /host/ubuntu/disks/root.disk
I assume this means you installed with Wubi? I haven't it look quite like this before.

I see four other partitions of significance listed

/dev/sda1: UUID="9C76914076911C58" LABEL="Primary" TYPE="ntfs"
/dev/sdb1: UUID="44667CD2667CC5E8" LABEL="Virtual Memory" TYPE="ntfs"
/dev/sdc5: UUID="F7083C722CA633C5" LABEL="Slave Disk 2" TYPE="ntfs"
/dev/sdd1: UUID="C4E8D4CFE8D4C13A" LABEL="Slave Disk 1" TYPE="ntfs"

Look at the label - do you recognize these names? It looks like labels that you named yourself.
The sdc5 device and sdd1 device at 1.5TB and 400GB respectively. The other 2 are 74GB each. So let's say you are trying to get the 1.5TB drive to mount:

First create the mount point (this needs to be done only once). We'll call the mountpoint "drive3", but you can call it whatever you want (no spaces or special characters):

sudo mkdir /media/drive3
Now try to mount manually:

sudo mount -t ntfs-3g /dev/sdc5 /media/drive3
Does it mount? If it doesn't spit anything back out, then it should have mounted. Let me know how this goes, and we'll proceed from there.

simeoncastle
December 15th, 2008, 04:55 PM
Okay, I got through to it and mounted all 4 drives in similar technique, having followed the instruction to the letter and changing for each drive appropriately.
So now I have 4 drives, 2 called what they are usually called in Windows (the 2 74Gb drives) one called drive3 and the other is yet to appear.
But, it's progress :)

Yes, I installed with Wubi for reasons that escape me, I think it was because it was the easiest thing to do on a list of rather difficult and time-consuming things.
And yes, the labels are their respective handles in Windows.



simeon@simeon-desktop:~$ df -h
Filesystem Size Used Avail Use% Mounted on
/host/ubuntu/disks/root.disk
27G 2.2G 24G 9% /
varrun 1014M 100K 1014M 1% /var/run
varlock 1014M 0 1014M 0% /var/lock
udev 1014M 100K 1014M 1% /dev
devshm 1014M 12K 1014M 1% /dev/shm
lrm 1014M 38M 976M 4% /lib/modules/2.6.24-19-generic/volatile
gvfs-fuse-daemon 27G 2.2G 24G 9% /home/simeon/.gvfs
/dev/sdc5 1.4T 232G 1.2T 17% /media/drive3
/dev/sda1 70G 52G 18G 75% /media/drive1
/dev/sdb1 70G 17G 53G 25% /media/drive2
/dev/sdd1 373G 29G 344G 8% /media/drive4

Rocket2DMn
December 15th, 2008, 11:54 PM
It looks to me like all 4 drives are mounted to me.
/media/drive3
/media/drive1
/media/drive2
/media/drive4