PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Help for newbie please! Keyboard screwy!

markuswinter
December 10th, 2008, 09:27 PM
Hi all,

sorry if this is something obvious but I'm new to Linux.

I bought a laptop on eBay - on the bottom it says MD02, model MB02 (yes, once D, once B), has a rather nice aluminium enclosure. I can't find much info using google but it might be from FIC.

Anyway it came with a pirated WinXP Pro installation (which didn't recognize all the hardware correctly but the keyboard worked fine). As I didn't want to use pirated software I decided to give Linux a try. Ubuntu seemed to be very popular and very user friendly so I went for that.

Installation seemed to go fine, german language and german keyboard, but when I restarted and tried it more extensively I discovered that some keys are fine (like q, w a, s) but others just don't work right. Hitting the d (or f?) key opens the calculator. Hitting e deletes the previous letter and adds two cyrillic letters.

I tried to change the keyboard in the system preferences (I tried most keyboards) but it doesn't seem to make a difference.

What can I do?

Thanks for your help

Markus

barisurum
December 10th, 2008, 09:36 PM
Open Applications/Accessories/Terminal and try this code:

setxkbmap de

barisurum
December 10th, 2008, 09:37 PM
Sorry double posted

loboc
December 10th, 2008, 09:37 PM
in a terminal window or on one of the tty screens (CTRL+ALT+F1 to switch to the command line CTRL+ALT+F7 to get back to X windows) type

sudo dpkg-reconfigure xserver-xorg

One of the questions is about the keyboard variant if you cant find infor on it you can guess and check.

After the dialogue completes

sudo /etc/init.d/gdm restart

keep trying to you get the keyboard right

markuswinter
December 10th, 2008, 09:46 PM
Thanks for the advice but I can't type an e or d or c so I can't really follow it

Markus

barisurum
December 10th, 2008, 09:46 PM