PDA

View Full Version : Presenting myself & problems with zv6000

debernardis
December 8th, 2005, 07:56 AM
Hi, I am new to this forum.

I live in Sicily with my wife (and hopefully in the next five months a toddler, which presently is happily growing in her womb), two notebooks and one smartphone, plus a number of other gadgets.

I have always been attracted by linux, but sticked with M$ products until I got too much fed up with their kludgy behaviour. I have been experimenting with penguin distros just in the last two or three months.
Ubuntu (Kubuntu) and Puppy linux gave me nice results, and some days ago I bought a brand new notebook, on which I intended to install a nice Ubuntu environment.

BUT! X doesn't like to start on this HP Pavilion zv6000 with ati radeon xpress 200, complaining of strange things about this video card.

Presently I am investigating around the 'Net for a workaround.

When I don't mess with computers, I am an addiction doctor working in a community hospital.

Hello all :razz:

newbie2
December 8th, 2005, 09:08 PM
i googled this -->
http://gentoo-wiki.com/HARDWARE_Gentoo_Linux_64bit_on_HP_Pavilion_zv6000_ series_notebook
also on this boardsearch i found this -->
http://ubuntuforums.org/search.php?searchid=2858600

WildTangent
December 8th, 2005, 11:08 PM
The Xpress 200 doesn't seem to work for anyone, including me :(

-Wild

debernardis
December 10th, 2005, 08:11 PM
1) The "NoAccel" trick allowed myself to login X
2) After one day trials I was able to make my wi-fi card work with ndiswrapper; I had to disable ACPI with ACPI=OFF boot parameter, so now the battery indicator is also disabled.
3) Presently trying to install accellerated ATI drivers.

jarnold_ubuntu
December 11th, 2005, 03:03 AM
I don't know why everyone seems to be having problems with the ATI RADEON x200 chip; mine worked fine out of the box (I have a Compaq v2405us) unaccelerated, and all I had to do to get 3D was