PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] [SOLVED] Can't mount live CD

GrahamM
December 9th, 2008, 03:25 AM
I need to access the Live CD so that I can re-install Network Manager. I have Ubuntu 8.10 installed on a dedicated HD and Live CD is on a dual CDROM/DVD drive.

When I attempt to mount the Live CD, I get a Can't mount error box. It says something about not reading Superblock.

If I insert another CD, it will mount and be accessible.

The Live CD when used standalone boots fine and works as it should.

I burned the live CD using Nero v8. Could it have something to do with the file format?

Any help appreciated! I am new at this!

psusi
December 9th, 2008, 04:05 AM
I'm not sure why it won't mount, but mounting it won't get you anything. If you want to reinstall something just do so in synaptic.

GrahamM
December 9th, 2008, 05:19 AM
I'm not sure why it won't mount, but mounting it won't get you anything. If you want to reinstall something just do so in synaptic.

Without internet access, how will reinstalling work with Synaptic? It just gives me a string of error messages because it can't connect.

It is Network Manager (or WiCD) that I am trying to re-install so that I can gain wifi access. Where would I find NM other than from the CD?

I did download both Network Manager and WiCd using Windows and placed them on the desktop. But, I don't know how to tell Synaptic that that the desktop is the depository. I did try, but did not get it to work.

For this question, I am trying t find out why the Live CD will not mount, when others CDs do.

psusi
December 9th, 2008, 05:23 AM
Without internet access, how will reinstalling work with Synaptic? It just gives me a string of error messages because it can't connect.

It won't, but you can't do that with the livecd either.

I did download both Network Manager and WiCd using Windows and placed them on the desktop. But, I don't know how to tell Synaptic that that the desktop is the depository. I did try, but did not get it to work.